TBR | All the World’s A Page

TBR

Yes, I’m going for a second readathon. I just couldn’t resist the sound of this one. This is a Shakespeare inspired readathon hosted by Olivia from Olivia’s Catastrophe,  Cara from Wilde Book Garden and Julia from Shakespeare and Such.

Now, the only Shakespeare play I have read so far is The Merchant of Venice back when I was studying for my English Literature GCSE so it’s been a minute! After seeing (and loving) a performance of Macbeth last year, and visiting Stratford-Upon-Avon I had full plans to read some Shakespeare. Which didn’t happen…

So I’m using this readathon as a push. It’s wonderfully set up so you don’t need to overwhelm yourself. In fact, I’m only going to be reading one play and you don’t have to finish that. Just give it a go!

I’ll be taking the beginner’s route:

  1. Start reading a Shakespeare play (don’t pressure yourself to finish it in the timeframe!)

A Midsummer Night’s Dream

I picked up a copy of this when I visited Shakespeare’s birth place. This is definitely the one that appeals to me the most! Plus I originally told Luna from Bookish Luna that I’d read this back in January and join their Shakespeare challenge, and sort of didn’t…

A Midsummer Night's Dream

 

2) Watch a Shakespeare adaptation

Macbeth (2018, Royal Shakespeare Company)

Now this is actually a play I’m familiar with, as I watched a version of it at a local outdoor theatre last year (gutted they’re not running this year!). There’s several Shakespeare plays available to watch on BBC iPlayer if you’re in the UK and I thought I’d start with one I know I’ll like. And hopefully I’ll find time to watch some others!

Christopher Ecclestone Macbeth

 

3) Read any Shakespeare retelling

Lady Hotspur by Tessa Gratton

From reviews this seems to be a pretty polarising read, but I think the same was true for Gratton’s first book The Queens of Innis Lear. And although it was a much slower burn than I usually like in my fantasies, I actually ended up enjoying it. So I’m excited to give her second book a go. This one is inspired by Henry IV.

Lady Hotspur

Follow me:     GoodReads   |   Twitter   |   Instagram

 

 

5 thoughts on “TBR | All the World’s A Page

  1. Olivia-Savannah

    I hope you enjoy participating in the readathon! I really like a midsummer night’s dream and is a lot of fun and mischief. I want to read lady hotspur eventually too!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Tag | Mid Year Book Freakout (2020) – This Is My Bookshelf

Leave a comment