Book Review: Just One Damned Thing After Another

book-review

Just One Damned Thing After Another

Just One Damned Thing After Another by Jodi Taylor (The Chronicles of St. Mary’s #1) ★★★☆☆

Published: 2013

Format: Paperback

Pages: 294

Genre: Science Fiction, Historical Fiction

“History is just one damned thing after another.”

I just had to pick this up. Time travel, a great cover AND possibly my favourite book title ever. So glad this got recommended to me at the bookshop!

This was a really fun read, which also had a lot of heart. While it’s a funny novel, Jodi Taylor isn’t afraid to contrast this with some really dark moments. We got to see a variety of time periods through this novel and I can’t wait to carry on the series.

My one issue with the novel is the pacing. This story pans a really long time period (as in real time, not time travel!), and it felt like we suddenly skipped ahead a few months every now again. It was off putting enough for me to take a star off, so I hope this isn’t a trend through the series. However, I still really enjoyed the story and can’t wait to see how it continues.

Follow me:     GoodReads   |   Twitter   |   Instagram

One comment

Leave a Reply

