Book & Screen Review: Nerve

book-screen

Nerve

Nerve by Jeanne Ryan ★★★☆☆

Published: 2012

Format: Paperback

Pages: 294

Genre: Contemporary

A high-stakes online game of dares turns deadly.

It’s not very often I say it, but I ADORE the movie edition cover of this novel. The neon colour scheme is what attracted me to watch this film on Netflix, having heard very little about it. Don’t you love it when a random watch, turns into a really great movie?

This was a fun ride of a story. It had a very Black Mirror feel to it. Something that is only slightly futuristic, and could easily happen any day now. I was kept on the edge of my seat throughout , and we were left with a great ending. Plus, the neon theme is used through out the movie which I loved!

After enjoying the film so much, I of course had to read the book. It was an enjoyable read, but I have to say it didn’t grab me as much as the film. It was a quick read, and still had a great ending though (different to the one used in the movie).

Overall, I’d definitely recommend both the movie and the book. They have a different kind of feel, although the core idea is the same. If you only want to try one, make it the film!

Follow me:     GoodReads   |   Twitter   |   Instagram

Leave a Reply

