Wrap Up: June 2017

wrap-up

1. The Rest of Us Just Live Here by Patrick Ness ★★★☆☆

A great take on the ‘chosen one’ trope, this is a diverse contemporary with a hint of fantasy. Full review coming soon.

2. Homecoming by Kass Morgan (The 100 #3) ★★★☆☆

This series started off weak, but it seems to be getting stronger with each novel. A nice quick sci-fi read. Full review coming soon.

3 & 4. Body Snatched #1&2 by Tony Lee, Illustrated by Don Smith and Charlie Kirchoff (Doctor Who: The Eleventh Doctor Archives #10&11) ★★☆☆☆

I loved the premise of this, and it started off strong. However, the second part let it down.

5. Just One Damned Thing After Another by Jodi Taylor (The Chronicles of St Mary’s #1) ★★★☆☆

I fun read, I loved Jodi Taylor’s humor. I look forward to the rest of the series.

6. Pretty Little Liars by Sara Shepard (Pretty Little Liars #1) ★★★☆☆

I’m not a huge contemporary reader, but I was intrigued after loving the TV show. It was OK, but I’m not motivated to read anything else. It way too long a series!

7. Lying in Wait by Liz Nugent ★★★☆☆

I was looking for a thriller with this, and it leaned more towards family drama. It was a decent enough read, just not personally for me.

8. Percy Jackson and the Titan’s Curse by Rick Riordan (Percy Jackson and the Olympians #3) ★★★☆☆

For me, this is the weakest of the series so far. Still enjoyable though.

9. PS, I Love You by Cecelia Ahern ★★★★☆

As I’ve said, I’m not a huge contemporary reader. But there’s something about Cecelia Ahern’s writing that I really enjoy.

10. Lyrebird by Cecelia Ahern ★★★★☆

Speaking of Cecelia Ahern, this is my favourite of her books I’ve read so far. It took a very different turn to what I expected, but I really enjoyed it. The narrator of the audiobook does a great job.

11. Ender’s Game by Orson Scott Card (The Ender Quintet #1) ★★★★☆ 

This was a great Sci-fi read, that made me realise I need to read more in the genre. I should mention that the author is a terrible human being though…

Leave a Reply

