Book Review: Odd Thomas

book-review

Odd Thomas.jpg

Odd Thomas by Dean Koontz (Odd Thomas #1) ★★★☆☆

Published: 2003

Format: eBook

Pages: 466

Genre: Fantasy

Odd Thomas is a small town fry cook (and boyfriend to the gorgeous Stormy Llewellyn). He also happens to see things that are going to happen, as well as dead people. A strange man has come to town. One who is followed by strange shadows. Tomorrow violence and murder will devastate the neighborhood. And only Odd knows it.

This is the beginning of a hugely popular supernatural series, which I’ve been meaning to pick up for a while. I know people who have given this series the title of their favourite ever. But it just didn’t quite click for me.

It’s a great concept, and an interesting read with wonderfully dark undertones. I loved the small town feel, and we meet a great cast of characters through the story.

But I was never truly pulled into the story, and I think that’s very much a reflection of personal preference. Some times you hit the ground running with a new world, some times you don’t.

With the popularity of the series, I’d definitely recommend checking this out for yourself. But for me, I won’t be continuing the series.

Follow me:     GoodReads   |   Twitter   |   Instagram

One comment

Leave a Reply

