Wrap Up: May 2017

1. The Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood ★★★☆☆

As a fan of dystopian novels, I finally got around to reading this in May. Unfortunately, I just didn’t click with Atwood’s writing. But I would still recommend picking it up. (Full review coming soon)

2. Caraval by Stephanie Garber (Caraval #1) ★★★★☆

I heard a lot of mixed things about this, but luckily it didn’t let me down at all. It was a really fun young adult novel with a hit of magic. I have seen comparisons to The Night Circus, which I don’t really see (I think this is why some people have been disappointed in it). (Full review coming soon)

3. Percy Jackson and the Lightning Thief by Rick Riordan (Percy Jackson #1) ★★★★☆

Why didn’t I read this series when I was younger?? This was a lot of fun, and I’m loving it even as an adult. (Full review coming soon)

4. Adulthood is a Myth by Sarah Anderson (Sarah’s Scribbles #1) ★★★★★

You’ve probably seen some of Sarah’s work floating around the internet. This collection is a lot of fun. I think it’s the most relatable book I’ve ever read! Definitely recommend for any 20-something.

5. Odd Thomas by Dean Koontz (Odd Thomas #1) ★★★☆☆

This is one of my friend’s favourite series, and I can see why. It’s an interesting take on paranormal, and I enjoyed the small town setting. But it didn’t quite pull me in as much as I would have liked. (Full review coming soon)

6. The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman ★★★☆☆

This was a fun and spooky children’s novel. For me it didn’t quite live up to the standard of Coraline, but I enjoyed it all the same. I’ve yet to read a bad Neil Gaiman book! (Full review coming soon)

7. Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close by Jonathan Safran Foer ★★★☆☆

This novel was told from multiple points of view. While I absolutely adored the chapters from Oscar’s point of view, but I just wasn’t interested in the others. (Full review coming soon)

8. Heart and Brain: An Awkward Yeti Collection by Nick Seluk ★★★☆☆

Some more cartoons you’ve probably seen around the internet. This was a funm light hearted read.

9. Station Eleven by Emily St John Mandel ★★★★★ (Re-read)

Following this re-read, I upped my rating from 4 to 5 stars. This is now a firm favourite! (Original review)

10. Percy Jackson and the Sea of Monsters (Percy Jackson #2) ★★★★☆

After loving Percy Jackson and the Lightning Thief I had to carry on with the series. Luckily this was just as good as the first. Expect to see the rest of the series in my next few wrap ups. (Full review coming soon)

11. Nerve by Jeanne Ryan ★★★☆☆

I picked this up after loving the film. The book and film are very different to each other, but both equally as thrilling. (Full review coming soon)

12. Killing the Dead by Marcus Sedgwick ★★★★☆

This is a short novella, written for World Book Day 2015. It was wonderfully atmospheric and creepy, and has left me wanting to try more of Marcu Sedwick’s writing.

 

Leave a Reply

