Wrap Up: April 2017

wrap-up

 

1. Hollow City by Ransom Riggs (Miss Peregrine’s Peculiar Children #2) ★★★☆☆

This was an underwhelming sequel to the wonderful Miss Peculiar’s Home for Peculiar Children (Full Review)

2. Magpie Murders by Anthony Horowitz ★★★★☆

This was a really enjoyable mystery novel. I didn’t read the synopsis before reading this and I’m really glad I didn’t because it added an extra bit of enjoyment to the story. (Full review coming soon)

3. The Island of Dr. Moreau by H.G. Wells ★★★☆☆

I find reading old science fiction really interesting – I love seeing what the genre looked like over 100 years ago before the technology we know and love today. That side of this was interesting and very much the reason I want to make my way through H.G. Well’s  work. But the novel is also very much a work of its time in the way that the topics of both race, and disfigurement are approached. It’s worth being aware of that before picking this up.

4. Areh by Jeffrey Kinsey ★★★☆☆

I received this from the author in exchange for an honest review. This project set out to pull together the beauty of writing with paintings and illustrations and it achieved that goal. However, it was a little weak when it came to plot. (Full review)

5. A History of Britain in 21 Women by Jenni Murray ★★★★★

I’m generally not a non fiction reader, but the premise of this (exploring 21 key women in the history of Britain) and the fact it was a daily deal on Audible made me give this a chance and I’m so glad I did. This is my favourite read of the year so far, and in fact is my first 5 star read of 2017! (Full review coming soon)

6. The Light of the Fireflies by Paul Pen (translated by Simon Bruni) ★★★★☆

This novel follows a boy who has lived in a basement his whole life after his family were disfigured by a fire. After his sister gives birth he starts to imagine what the outside is like. I was completely hooked and devoured this. (Full review coming soon)

7. The Painted Bridge by Wendy Wallace ★★★☆☆

It was the beautiful cover which made me pick up this novel. It made me expect an atmospheric and creepy novel, which unfortunately wasn’t what this was about. It’s more of a character driven novel, following a young Victorian woman who’s tricked into a private asylum by her new husband.

Follow me:     GoodReads   |   Twitter   |   Instagram

Leave a Reply

