Book Review: Hollow City

book-review

Hollow City

Hollow City by Ransom Riggs (Miss Peregrine’s Peculiar Children #2) ★★★☆☆

Published: 2014

Format: Paperback

Pages: 428

Genre: Fantasy, Young Adult

This review is spoiler free for Hollow City, but does contain spoilers for previous books in the series.

This second novel begins in 1940, immediately after the first book ended. Having escaped Miss Peregrine’s island by the skin of their teeth, Jacob and his new friends must journey to London, the peculiar capital of the world. Along the way, they encounter new allies, a menagerie of peculiar animals, and other unexpected surprises.

After thoroughly enjoying Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children, unfortunately this sequel was a bit of a let down. It was an enjoyable story, the plot was fun and I loved the photos which are my favourite things about these novels. However, it just didn’t click with me.

There were a few things that stood out to me. The peculiar animals for one felt forced. While the story generally seems to flow well with the photographs complimenting it, with the animals it just felt like Riggs wanted to try and shoehorn those photos in. And in regards to the plot as a whole, everything felt a bit coincidental. It just didn’t feel like a natural plot progression to me.

For me, this novel feels like it’s suffering from middle book syndrome. I loved the set up of the Miss Peregrine’s story, and I think it was the setting of the remote island and strange home which made me enjoy it so much. I will be continuing the series – fingers crossed it reaches the joys of the first book again!

Follow me:     GoodReads   |   Twitter   |   Instagram

5 comments

  1. I had a hard time with the peculiar animals myself, so I’m glad to know it wasn’t just me. Even if I was in the age demograph that these stories are aimed at, I think I’d still struggle with the animals. The rest of the book, though, is wonderful to me, and the only reason I’ve not actually picked up my copy of Library of Souls yet, is that I’m not quite ready for the peculiar adventure to end.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. My copy has been sat around glaring at me for months lol. Partof me really wants to get my nose stuck in to it, but most of me knows it will all be over once I’ve read it, and that idea makes me sad :/ (the curse of the bibliophile, right? lol)

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

