Book Tag: NY Times By the Book Tag

tag

Created by Marie Berg.

1. What book is on your nightstand now?

I’m currently reading The Painted Bridge by Wendy Wallace. Also on my nightstand is a few books I’m excited to read soon: The Girl of Ink and Stars, Quidditch Through the Ages, Anansi Boys, The Graveyard Book, Three Dark Crowns and Glass Sword

2. What was the last truly great book that you read?

‘Truly great’ is a tricky description! Should I talk about something I personally loved? Or something where the writing is maybe a bit more profound?

I’m just going to go with my personal taste. I recently read, and absolutely adored, The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater. But my favourite of the year so far is The History of Britain in 21 Women by Jenni Murray (more on this later…)

3. If you could meet any writer – dead or alive – who would it be? And what would you want to know?

Neil Gaiman. He’s my favourite author, but what I’d most like to know is what it was like to work on stories for Doctor Who

4. What books might we be surprised to find on your shelves?

I have a lot of recipe books, as I love cooking

5. How do you organize your personal library?

I live in a one bedroom flat, so space is limited. I have little shelf space so they’re just arranged however I can get them to fit best (although they’re roughly split by genre). I do keep my read and to be read books separate, and if I didn’t love a book it goes into a pile for the charity shop.

I also organise my Kindle books into categories: Read (4-5 stars), read (3 stars or less), to read (general), to read (classics) and to read (freebies/books from bundles)

6. What book have you always meant to read and haven’t gotten around to yet? Anything you feel embarrased never to have read?

The book I really need to get around to reading is Heidi by Johanna Spyri. I received a few copies of when I was born but only ever read and abridged picture book version. I need to finally read the full novel.

7. Disappointing, overrated, just not good: what book did you feel you were supposed to like but didnt? Do you remember the last book you put down without finishing?

I really should have loved The First Fifteen Lives of Harry August by Claire North. I really loved the concept, it was really well hyped, and loads of my favourite reviewers raved about it. But I just didn’t like the writing style.

And on the same theme, the last book I put down was Claire North’s latest The End of the Day. It seems her writing just isn’t my taste.

8. What kinds of stories are you drawn to? Any you stay clear of?

In general I steer clear of non fiction, and romance. But I’m willing to try anything if I hear good things. A couple of themes which I really love are time travel, pirates and assassins (any recommendations are more than welcome!)

9. If you could require the president Prime Minister to read one book, what would it be?

My favourite book of the year so far: The History of Britain in 21 Women by Jenni Murray. It’s a look at how 21 women influenced the course of history for women in Britain. I think it would be a great read for any Prime Minister, but particularly appropriate for Theresa May who I’m sure would be fascinated to learn more about the women who helped paved the way for her.

10. What do you plan to read next?

I’ve just picked up A Conjuring of Light by V.E. Shwab – I loved A Gathering of Shadows earlier in the year so I’m keen to read this soon.

Follow me:     GoodReads   |   Twitter   |   Instagram

Leave a Reply

