Wrap Up: March 2017

wrap-up

 

I have no idea how I managed to read 10 books this month! I thought I’d had a slow month, as I also DNF’d 3 books. Anyway, onto the books…

1. Furthermore by Tahereh Mafi ★★★★☆

This was a really fun and whimsical children’s novel following a young girl, very reminiscent of Alice in Wonderland. (Full Review)

2. The Chosen by Arlene Hunt ★★★☆☆

This was an interesting take on the thriller genre, where we follow the story in the build up to the crime, from the perspective of both victim and perpetrator among others. However, it didn’t quite capture my attention as much as I like to see in a thriller.

3. Every Heart a Doorway by Seanan McGuire (Wayward Children #1) ★★★★☆

This was a great, quick read – a wonderful concept, executed with a brilliantly dark twist. (Full review)

4. Doctor Who: Engines of War by George Mann (Doctor Who: New Series Adventures Specials #4) ★★★☆☆

This special follows The War Doctor during the Time War. He meets a young girl under attack by Daleks. Together they work together to stop both Daleks and Time Lords from destroying her planet and her kind. This was a fun story (it was great to have a story set in that time in the Doctor’s history). It was a really fantastic audiobook – narrated by the wonderful Nicholas Briggs, alongside full sound effects. I’ll definitely be reading more of these via audiobook in the future.

5. The Outsider by Arlene Hunt ★★★★☆

This isn’t the thriller the blurb makes it out to be. But it’s a wonderfully written story of a family and the terrible things which happen to them. (Full review)

6. The Twits by Roald Dahl ★★★☆☆

Not my favourite of his novels, but a fun read nonetheless.

7. The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater (The Raven Cycle #1) ★★★★☆

When a book receives as much hype as this, it’s always a worry that it will end up as a dissapointment. Luckily that wasn’t the case with this one! I thouroughally enjoyed it (it may be my favourite read of the year so far) and I’m excited for the rest of the series. (Full review)

8. Persuasion by Jane Austen ★★☆☆☆

I listened to this on audiobook – to be honest I’m not sure I’d have got through it if I’d read it myself. The characters were all unlikable and the story very predictable.

9. Crackanory: Too Cracked for TV by Various ★★★★☆

This was a really fun collection of short stories. It’s available for free on Audible – and I’ve just discovered series 1-4 is also available. I’ll definitely be picking them up.

10. The ABC Murders by Agatha Christie ★★★☆☆

Not my favourite of her novels, but still an enjoyable read. As always, it had a really interesting ending.

DNF

It seemed to be a bad month for DNFing books, although I did give all of them a good go:

  • Soldier Spy by Tom Marcus (Read 50%) – This is non-fiction, which I very rarely read. I picked this one up because my fiance loved it (and he doesn’t read very often). I found it surprisingly boring considering the subject matter (MI5) and found the author came across as very unlikable.
  • The Distant Hours by Kate Morton (Read c.200 pages) – I’ve really enjoyed other books by Kate Morton, but unfortunately this one just didn’t capture my attention. Since DNFing I’ve read other people’s reviews who feel the same way.
  • The End of the Day by Claire North (Read 50%) – I received this for free in exchange for an honest review via NetGalley. I really love the idea of Claire North’s books, so despite my very ‘meh’ feelings towards The First Fifteen Lives of Harry August I really wanted to give her another go. Unfortunately, everything I didn’t like about Harry August was even more prominent here. I do think this is very much a case of personal taste. I highly recommend trying one of Claire North’s books if you haven’t already, or if you loved one of her other books I think you’d like this as well. Full review on GoodReads.

 

Follow me:     GoodReads   |   Twitter   |   Instagram

Leave a Reply

