Book Review: The Marble Collector

book-review

the-marble-collector

The Marble Collector by Cecelia Ahern ★★★☆☆

Published: 2015

Format: Audiobook

Pages: 304

Genre: Contemporary

When Sabrina Boggs stumbles upon a mysterious collection of her father’s possessions, she discovers a truth where she never knew there was a lie. The familiar man she grew up with is suddenly a stranger to her.

An unexpected break in her monotonous daily routine leaves her just one day to unlock the secrets of the man she thought she knew. A day that unearths memories, stories and people she never knew existed. A day that changes her and those around her forever.

I wasn’t sure what to make of this book when I saw the blurb, but when it came up as an Audible Daily Deal that was enough to persuade me to give it a go. After reading, I do think that the blurb plays up the big secret a little too much. ‘A day that changes her and those around her forever’ is probably pushing it a bit!

Nevertheless, I did enjoy listening to this. It had two great narrators, one for Sabrina’s chapters and the other told from the point of view of her dad. It was her dad’s chapters that I personally found the most interesting. While he is a very normal man, I enjoyed exploring his life from moving to Ireland as a child up to the present day where he resides in a care home following a stroke.

I’m not normally a big contemporary fan, but there’s something about Cecelia Ahern writing which I find pleasant to read. Although this isn’t my favourite of those I’ve read so far (that title currently goes to Where Rainbows End), it was enjoyable nonetheless.

If the blurb intrigues you, or you’ve enjoyed Cecelia Ahern’s writing before, I’d recommend giving this a go.

Follow me:     GoodReads   |   Twitter   |   Instagram

Leave a Reply

