Series I Won’t Be Finishing #1

Series I Won't Be Finishing.png

Inspired by Between Chapters, today’s post is to talk about some series that I have started but won’t be finishing.

1. Numbers by Rachel Ward (Read 2/3)

Jem has a secret – when she looks into someone’s eyes she can see the date they will die. When she plans a day out with a boy called Spider, her life changes forever.

I was initially disappointed with Numbers because of my expectations. I went into the series expecting science fiction and the books are definitely more grounded than that. I would describe them as more contemporary with a twist. Once I knew what I was getting into I gave The Chaos a chance, and sadly just couldn’t connect to the story.

2. The Wolves of Mercy Falls by Maggie Stiefvater (Read 1/4)

Grace is curious about a yellow eyed Wolf in woods behind her house. Then she meets a boy with very familiar yellow eyes.

I read the first book (Shiver) back when Paranormal seemed to be at its peak – I was swept up into the genre through Twlight like many people. I was attracted this series by the very beautiful covers. Unfortunately I just couldn’t connect to it. I am however excited to try her very popular Raven Cycle series.

3. White Rabbit Chronicles by Gena Showalter (Read 2/4)

Alice’s father has always been adamant that there are monsters out there that only he can see. She has always had to abide by his strict rules and curfews. And then she discovers he was right all along. And now, Alice must learn to fight the undead.

I really enjoyed Alice In Zombieland. It’s definitely not an Alice in Wonderland retelling, but it’s a fun Zombie story with some references sprinkled in. Unfortunately, Through the Zombie Glass focused much more significantly on the main romance and so I lost interest in the series.

4. Zom-B by Darren Shan (Read 2/12)

The zombie apocalypse is upon us, here begins the story told first hand – by one of it’s victims

I picked up a bind up of the first two books in the series, around the time I first watched The Walking Dead. I really liked the concept behind the story, seeing everything unfold through the eyes of one of the zombies themselves. However, B’s father was a big turn off from the series. He was incredibly racist and abusive, which seemed completely unnecessary to the story and left a bad taste. Zom-B Underground was an improvement but the damage had been done and I have no interest in continuing.

5. His Dark Materials by Philip Pullman (Read 2/3)

Here lives an orphaned ward named Lyra Belacqua, whose carefree life among the scholars at Oxford’s Jordan College is shattered by the arrival of two powerful visitors.

I know this is an incredibly popular trilogy, but it just didn’t click with me.I initially read them as a teenager, and enjoyed the first two but ended up putting down The Amber Spyglass. I tried again by re-reading Northern Lights a year or two ago but only found it OK, and have no motivation to continue with the series. (I did love Philip Pullman’s Sally Lockhart Quartet though)

Have you tried any of the above series? What did you think of them?

Follow me:     GoodReads   |   Twitter   |   Instagram

Leave a Reply

