Book Review: Ragdoll

book-review

2358690

Ragdoll by Daniel Cole ★★★★☆

Published: 23rd February 2017

Format: Uncorrected Proof

Pages: 304

Genre: Crime

I won an uncorrected proof from the publisher Trapeze, via a GoodReads giveaway. All opinions are my own.

A body is discovered with the dismembered parts of six victims stitched together like a puppet, nicknamed by the press as the ‘ragdoll’.

Assigned to the shocking case are Detective William ‘Wolf’ Fawkes, recently reinstated to the London Met, and his former partner Detective Emily Baxter.

The ‘Ragdoll Killer’ taunts the police by releasing a list of names to the media, and the dates on which he intends to murder them.

With six people to save, can Fawkes and Baxter catch a killer when the world is watching their every move?

– Official Synopsis

If the synopsis doesn’t appeal to you, this is not the book for you. But if this is the type of story you like to read then you’ll love it!

I’m a big fan of serial killer type books, but they can end up being very average, and samey. Daniel Cole however kept me hooked through out this novel. The story was fantastic and well written, and I was kept on the edge of my seat.

I knew I was going to rate this highly all the way through, but it was the ending which really tipped this into a fantastic thriller. Books in this genre live or die through the conclusion, and Cole managed it brilliantly.

This is an incredible debut novel, and I can’t wait to see what he comes up with next.

The TV rights for Ragdoll have been sold, and I have my fingers tightly crossed that it makes it to the screen. It would make a fantastic series. Incidentally it actually started out as an unproduced TV pilot!

Follow me:     GoodReads   |   Twitter   |   Instagram

One comment

Leave a Reply

