Book Review: The Name of the Wind

book-review

881375

The Name of the Wind by Patrick Rothfuss (The Kingkiller Chronicles #1) ★★★★☆

Published: 2007

Format: Audiobook (Narrated by Rupert Degas)

Pages: 662

Genre: Fantasy

‘I have stolen princesses back from sleeping barrow kings. I burned down the town of Trebon. I have spent the night with Felurian and left with both my sanity and my life. I was expelled from the University at a younger age than most people are allowed in. I tread paths by moonlight that others fear to speak of during day. I have talked to Gods, loved women, and written songs that make the minstrels weep.

My name is Kvothe.
You may have heard of me’

Kvothe has become somewhat of a legend or a myth of a man. He has agree to tell his true story once and only once. The Name of the Wind covers his childhood and teenage years. Growing up as part of a traveling troupe, begging on the streets of a city, and attempting to enter a prestigious school of magic.

The first thing I will say about this book is to ignore comparisons to Harry Potter and Game of Thrones. They may be the same genre, but the stories themselves are completely different.

That aside, I thoroughly enjoyed this novel! Rothfuss’ writing is stunning. I am usually more of a fan of plot than writing, but I found myself enjoying all aspects of this. Even through some quieter periods (this is after all a very long book), I kept wanting to go back for more.

I listened to this on audiobook and loved my experience. The narrator, Rupert Degas, was wonderful and I would definitely recommend trying any audio book read by him. I’ve already purchased the sequel The Wise Man’s Fear and will be sticking to audiobook for the whole trilogy.

Follow me:     GoodReads   |   Twitter   |   Instagram

One comment

Leave a Reply

