2017 TBR

2017

While I don’t make monthly TBRs, I did want to check in with my (huge) TBR list to see which books I wanted to make a priority list for next year. So, here’s 17 books I want to read in 2017!

CONTINUING SERIES

1) The Daughter of Smoke and Bone Trilogy by Laini Taylor (#2 & #3)

I really enjoyed Daughter of Smoke and Bone last year, so I’m keen to get to the rest of the series. In fact, I’m currently reading Days of Blood and Starlight.

2) A Gathering of Shadows by V.E. Schwab (Shades of Magic #2)

881375

I have a few Schwab books that I really want to read, but my priority is to carry on with the brilliant world built up in A Darker Shade of Magic.

3) Winter by Marissa Meyer (The Lunar Chronicles #4)

881375

I got given this beast (over 800 pages!) for Christmas. I loved the peak we got of Winter in Cress, so I have high hopes for this!

4) Glass Sword by Victoria Aveyard (Red Queen #2)

881375

I know that there were a lot of mixed reviews for Red Queen, and while I thought the majority was pretty average I really loved the ending. So I’m hoping that enjoyment carries on with the sequel.

5) Queen of Shadows by Sarah J Maas (Throne of Glass #4)

881375

Reading The Assassin’s Blade last year helped to reignite my enjoyment for this series.

6) Assassin’s Quest by Robin Hobb (Farseer Trilogy #3)

881375.jpg

I’ll admit, the size of this has made me put off picking it up. But I really need to get around to it, before I forget what happened in the rest of the trilogy!

7) Anansi Boys by Neil Gaiman (American Gods #2)

881375

I really enjoyed American Gods this year, and would love to pick up this follow up before the TV adaptation airs in case they use material from this as well.

8) Day 21 by Kass Morgan (The 100 #2)

881375.jpg

While The 100 isn’t a great book, it’s a lot of fun and a really quick read. I am a big fan of the TV show, so I thought I’d give the sequel a go.

9) The ABC Murders by Agatha Christie (Hercule Poirot #13)

881375.jpg

I’ve been really enjoying Agatha Christie, so I’m hoping to carry this on through 2017. Starting with The ABC Murders.

NEW SERIES

10) The Final Empire by Brandon Sanderson (Mistborn #1)

881375.jpg

I am completely read to jump on the Mistborn bandwagon. I really enjoyed The Rithmatist, so it’ll be interesting to try out his adult fantasy writing.

11) Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs

881375.jpg

After receiving this for Christmas, I can finally see what all the fuss is about! Plus I’d really like to see the movie, so naturally need to read the book first.

12) Three Dark Crowns by Kendare Blake (Three Dark Crowns #1)

881375

Reagan from Peruse Project has been raving about this, and it sounds really intriguing and different to most fantasy I read.

13) The Raven Boys by Maggie Steifvater (The Raven Cycle #1)

881375

I’ve tried Maggie Stiefvater’s The Wolves of Mercy Falls series and didn’t like it. But with all the love for this series, I think it’s time that I give her another chance!

14) Odd Thomas by Dean Koontz (Odd Thomas #1)

881375

This was recommended to me by a friend years ago, it’s time I finally get around to reading it.

15) Pretty Little Liars by Sara Shepard (Pretty Little Liars #1)

881375

I’m aware this is total trash, and that’s exactly how my friend recommended it to me! I’m also a big fan of the show, so thought this would be a fun read.

STANDALONES

16) Heidi by Johanna Spyri

881375

This is the book I have owned the longest after I was given it as a baby (as my name is Heidi). I read the picture book version, but never the full novel. 25 years after receiving it, I think I need to finally read it!

17) The Crane Wife by Patrick Ness

881375

I really enjoyed The Chaos Walking Trilogy so it’s definitely time I pick up something else by Patrick Ness.

 

One comment

Leave a Reply

