Top 10 Books of 2016

2016

2016 has been a great reading year for me! I posted my reading statistics a few days ago.

This is a list of my personal favourite books from those I read during 2016.

Honourable Mentions: Coraline by Neil Gaiman, A Thousand Splendid Suns by Khaled Hosseini, Through the Woods by Emily Carroll, Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor

#10 – Station Eleven by Emily St John Mandel (Full Review)

23306186

I adored Mandel’s writing. While this is a post apocalyptic novel, it has a very unique feel to it. This is at its core a story of people and their lives and relationships.

#9 – The Name of the Wind by Patrick Rothfuss (The Kingkiller Chronicles #1)

881375

Patrick Rothfuss’ writing can be described as nothing less than beautiful. While this is a very long novel, and there are quieter periods during the story, it’s never boring. I listened to the audiobook (narrated by Rupert Degas) and I highly recommend this format.

#8 – The Lies of Locke Lamora by Scott Lynch (The Gentleman Basterd #1) (Full Review)

17181874

This had a similar feel to it as The Name of the Wind. But the thing that I really loved about this were the Gentlemen Bastards themselves. The way their tricks where pulled together was brilliant. I wasn’t a huge fan of the end section of the novel, but I’m definitely sucked into the series.

#7 – Code Name Verity by Elizabeth Wein (Code Name Verity #1) (Full Review)

881375

The thing that really stood out about this novel was the friendship between the two main characters. It was wonderfully written, and great to see a friendship as the focus of a novel. I kept thinking about this long after I finished reading.

#6 – Passenger by Alexandra Bracken (Passenger #1) (Full Review)

881375

I was nervous about this following the hype but I really loved it! I loved the way Bracken pulled together the different time periods, and I was kept excited throughout and I can’t wait for the follow up.

#5 – A Thousand Pieces of You by Claudia Gray (Firebird #1) (Full Review)

881375

This isn’t the best written book in the world, but it completely sucked me in and I really love the concept. I love the different worlds Gray has pulled together, and there’s some great twists throughout this story. I also read the sequel Ten Thousand Skies Above You and loved it equally as much.

#4 – And Then There Were None by Agatha Christie (Full Review)

2e86rcn

This is now my favourite Classic of all time, as well as one of my favourite mysteries. This was the novel that really made me fall in love with Agatha Christie. It’s cleverly pulled together, and I highly recommend it to anyone.

I’d also like to mention two other Christie novels I loved this year, Peril at End House and Murder on the Orient Express.

#3 – The Assassin’s Blade by Sarah J Maas (Throne of Glass #0.1 – #0.5) (Full Review)

881375

I was very unsure about a collection of prequel novellas, but this instantly became my favourite from the series! A great collection of assassin stories which all link together to create a single storyline.

#2 – Illuminae by Amie Kauffman and Jay Kristoff (The Illuminae Files #1) (Full Review)

881375

This book completely sucked me into the characters and the world. The format was really cleverly pulled together, and the twists and turns kept me gripped throughout. I also enjoyed the sequel Gemina.

#1 – The Night Circus by Erin Morganstern (Full Review)

2e86rcn

This was a beautiful and magical read. It was the first thing I read this year and it’s stuck with me ever since. I definitely plan on re-reading sometime soon. I highly recommend it to everyone, and I need Erin Morgenstern to write another book!

Follow me:     GoodReads   |   Twitter   |   Instagram

Leave a Reply

