November Wrap Up

wrap-up

I had a brilliant reading month in November, picking up some of my favourite books of the year!

 

Illuminae by Aime Kaufman and Jay Kristoff (The Illuminae Files #1)

I was wary about reading this. With the mixed media format (something I’m not usually a fan of) along with the significant hype (which often results in a let down). But boy was I wrong. I was hooked into the story, and this has become a new favourite. (Full review)

The Assassin’s Blade by Sarah J Maas (Throne of Glass #0.1 – #0.5)

This is a collection of 5 novellas set before Throne of Glass, when Celaena was an Assassin. I have never been big on novellas, but I absolutely adored this collection. In fact, this is my favourite book in the series so far! Any other assassin recommendations are more than welcome. (Full review)

The Name of the Wind by Patrick Rothfuss (The Kingkiller Chronicles #1) ★★★★☆

I’ve heard a lot of people raving about this, and it’s definitely worth the hype. The plot isn’t particularly fast paced given the size of the novel, but the writing is wonderful. I listened to this on audiobook and completely adored it, I definitely recommend this format. (Full review)

Trespass by Mikey Campling (The Darkening Stone #1) ★★★☆☆ 

Trespass tells the story of the Darkening Stone, and mythical stone which affects those who finds it. The novel flashes between time period showing the lives of these people today, in 1939 and over 5,000 years ago. The biggest let down for me was that the GoodReads synopsis suggests time travel (‘The Darkeningstone combines gritty, edgy modern-day action with an adventure across time.‘), so it wasn’t what I was expecting. It was still an OK read, but I won’t be continuing with the series.

Ten Thousand Skies Above You by Claudia Gray (Firebird #2) ★★★★☆ 

I fell in love with A Thousand Pieces of You and this sequel did not disappoint. I won’t go into it here, as I don’t want to spoil the first book. But the Firebird series follows Marguerite, whose parents are physicists who have invented a device to jump between dimensions.

Gemina by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff (The Illuminae Files #2) ★★★★☆ 

After finishing Illuminae, I was excited to check out the sequel. Gemina is set following the events of the first book, following two new characters. While I didn’t love this quite as much as Illuminae, it was still a brilliant read. Roll on book 3! (Full review)

The Ersatz Elevator by Lemony Snicket (A Series of Unfortunate Events #6) ★★★★☆ 

I’m really enjoying my re-read of this series, and this was a surprising 4 star read. As the series continues, the story structure starts to get repetitive, but this had a great twist to it.

Leave a Reply

