Blog Tour: Death at the Seaside

blog-tour

881375

Death at the Seaside by Frances Brody (Kate Shackleton #8) ★★★☆☆

Published: 6th October 2016

Format: Paperback

Pages: 384

Genre: Crime, Historical Fiction

I received a copy of this book from Piatkus in exchange for an honest review. All opinions are my own.

Kate Shackleton is a sleuth in 1920s England. In this, the eighth story, she feels she deserves a break. She heads down to the small seaside town of Whitby to visit a friend and take a holiday. But upon arrival not only is her friend’s daughter missing but she has pawned a watch guard to the local jeweller who is then found dead. Kate can’t help but start investigating.

This is what I’d describe as a ‘cosy’ crime novel. While there has been a murder, there never feels to be any danger in the town. The focus is definitely more on the characters and the goings on in the town. In fact, it’s the intricacies of the relationships in a small town that are the most interesting parts of this novel.

Kate is an interesting main character. She seems pretty quick to suspect somebody of the murder, but it does mean that we get to really explore various people throughout the story. I’d be really interested to see how Kate works in the settings of her other books when she’s actually working.

I don’t generally read this sort of crime novel, I tend to lean towards something grittier. But the parallels in the set up between this and Peril at End House by Agatha Christie were too much to resist. The 1920s setting, the sleuth taking a break from work in a small English seaside town where a mystery pops up. I couldn’t help but want to give this a go. And I’m glad I did. It’s a nice read, and I’d put it alongside the likes of The Cuckoo’s Calling by Robert Galbraith in terms of style. So if that’s up your street I’d recommend picking this up.

Also, can I just mention the gorgeous cover?

Death at the Seaside will be released Thursday 6th October by Piatkus, in paperback and eBook

Check out the rest of the blogs on the tour:

13602234

Follow me:     GoodReads   |   Twitter   |   Instagram

One comment

Leave a Reply

