Book Review: Code Name Verity

book-review

881375

Code Name Verity by Elizabeth Wein (Code Name Verity #1) ★★★★☆

Published: 2012

Format: eBook

Pages: 464

Genre: Historical Fiction

Code Name Verity follows two women during World War One; a special ops officer and a pilot. Queenie has been captured by the Nazis in France, and is being forced to give up information, which she does in the form of telling the story of their friendship.

I’ve not read a huge amount set during the world wars, I usually focus on further back, but the blurb had me seriously interested in this. And it didn’t let me down.

I really enjoyed the format of this book, with the story being told by Queenie cutting between her past with her friend as well as the present in her jail cell. Both Maddie and Queenie are very different characters but both brilliant. I loved their friendship and their differences made it all the more enjoyable to read.

I will definitely be picking up the companion novel Rose Under Fire. I instantly clicked with Elizabeth Wein’s writing and so I’m also eyeing up her fantasy series The Lion Hunters.

2 comments

Leave a Reply

