August Reading Wrap Up: Part 2

wrap-up

Welcome to part 2 of my August reading wrap up. Part 1 (boutofbooks readathon wrap up) can be found here

I had a brilliant reading month, completing a total of 12 books (4 during the readathon).

When Will There Be Good News? by Kate Atkinson (Jackson Brodie #3) ★★★☆☆

I’ve wanted to try out Kate Atkinson for a while, so when my mother-in-law passed this on to me I was excited to read it. Overall I was pretty underwhelmed. This was by no means a bad book, but just pretty average. There is a mystery throughout the story, but we’re much more focused on the characters. If that sounds like it appeals to you, give it a go, but Atkinson’s writing just didn’t click with me.

Rogues by Various (Edited by George R. R. Martin and Gardner R. Dozois) ★★★☆☆ (Review Coming Wednesday)

It’s difficult to review an anthology. With a wide range of authors it’s unlikely you’ll like them all. For me this was OK, some stories I didn’t finish while others I really enjoyed.

The Rithmatist by Brandon Sanderson (Rithmatist #1) ★★★★☆

This was my first taste of Brandon Sanderson, and was a really fun YA fantasy. I loved the magic system, and will definitely be checking out some of Sanderson’s adult work.

The Wide Window by Lemony Snicket (A Series of Unfortunate Events #3) ★★★★☆

I’m re-reading this series ready for the Netflix adaptation, and loving it!

The Book of Deacon by Joseph R Lallo (The Book of Deacon #1) ★★★☆☆

I’ve loved the other books I’ve read by Lallo previously, but this didn’t quite live up to them. The first half was pretty average but once the story really got going in the second half I really enjoyed it. I’m looking forward to checking out the sequel.

Neil Gaiman’s Likely Stories by Neil Gaiman ★★☆☆☆

Neil Gaiman is one of my favourite authors, but these short stories really weren’t for me. This is a selection of his short stories taken from his various collections which were adapted for TV recently.

Peril at End House by Agatha Christie (Hercule Poirot, #8) ★★★★☆ (Full Review)

My favourite of the Hercule Poirot novels which I’ve read so far. Definitely one to check out if you’re new to Agatha Christie.

Fantastic Mr Fox by Roald Dahl ★★★☆☆

This month marks what would have been Roald Dahl’s 100th Birthday. So I decided now is a great time to revist my childhood books! This is a quick fun read.

Follow me:     GoodReads   |   Twitter   |   Instagram

Leave a Reply

