August Reading Wrap Up: Part 1, Bout of Books

readathon-wrap-up

Welcome to part one of my August wrap up! The Bout of Books readathon took place last week, and I managed to get 4 books read. I actually managed to stick to, and finish, my TBR.

Readathon Stats:

Books Complete = 4

Pages Read = 996

Average Rating = ★★★☆☆

The Taking of Chelsea 426 by David Llewellyn (Doctor Who: New Series Adventures #34) ★★★☆☆

This was a pretty average book in the Doctor Who: New Series Adventures series. It was fun, if not completely mind blowing. Worth picking up if you’re a Doctor Who fan, although there are better stories in the series.

The Miserable Mill by Lemony Snicket (A Series of Unfortunate Events #4) ★★★☆☆

I’m really enjoying re-reading this series, and I’m much less familiar with the stories from here on. They’re great children’s stories, but can be enjoyed at any age.

The Paper Magician by Charlie N. Holmberg (The Paper Magician #1) ★★★☆☆

This was a fun read and I enjoyed the whimsy of paper magic. However, there was a section of the story which had a very different tone to it and felt kind of out of place next to the first half of the novel. I do plan to check out the sequel however.

The Book of Tomorrow by Cecelia Ahern ★★★☆☆

This kind of felt like two different story ideas put together into one. I think I would have appreciated the ideas more as individual stories. I did however enjoy the novel overall, and I find Cecelia Ahern’s books nice easy reads.

Follow me:     GoodReads   |   Twitter   |   Instagram

One comment

Leave a Reply

