Reading Wrap Up: July 2016

wrap-up

I read a massive 9 books this month! I aim for 1 a week, so I’m very pleased with that.

Also this month, I hit my GoodReads goal of 52 books. As we still have 5 months left I decided to extend my goal to 75 books. It’s a pretty stretching goal, but we’ll see how it goes.

So, onto the books…

The Cuckoo’s Calling by Robert Galbraith (Cormoran Strike #1) ★★★☆☆

This isn’t my usual style of crime fiction (I usually like something a bit more gory, I’m not sure what that says about me…), but I did enjoy this. The writing was ‘comfortable’ (it must have reminded me of Harry Potter), and I really liked the main characters. I’ll definitely be continuing on with the series

Where Rainbows End by Cecelia Ahern (AKA Love, Rosie) ★★★☆☆ (Review)

Another style of book I don’t generally pick up. After loving the film I had to give it a go, and it was a nice light read. I’ve got a load more of her books to make my way through.

Unremembered by Jessica Brody (Unremembered #1) ★★★☆☆ (Review)

I pretty appropriate title for a fairly forgettable YA novel. It was OK, there was nothing particularly wrong with it, but I won’t be continuing the series.

Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone by J.K. Rowling (Harry Potter #1) ★★★★★

This was a re-read for me (I’ve lost count of how many times) but this was the first time I read my illustrated edition. The illustrations were amazing, I adore Jim Kay’s work, and they made the reading experience all the more magical.

The Trouble With Women by Jacky Fleming ★★★★☆ (Review) Review Copy

This was a really great read, an illustrated satirical look at why women aren’t taught in history class. Definitely worth picking up!

The Host by Stephanie Meyer ★★★★☆ 

I’ve been meaning to pick this up for a really long time, and I finally did when I borrowed the audio book from my library. Whatever I expected from this, I was totally wrong. This was a really great character driven book, and I highly recommend it. I’ll be posting a full review soon!

Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard (Red Queen #1) ★★★☆☆ 

I heard a lot of mixed things about this before I picked it up, most of the negatives called out how tropey it is. There’s no denying that there was some clear YA tropes through the majority of this book, although it really was a fun read. The ending however was brilliant, and I can’t wait to pick up the next in the series.

Coraline by Neil Gaiman ★★★★☆ 

I’m a big Neil Gaiman fan and am slowly making my way through his work. Coraline is a creepy children’s books, and I really enjoyed it.

Harry Potter and the Curse Child by Jack Thorne (with J.K. Rowling and John Tiffany) ★★★★☆  (Harry Potter #8)

This script has definitely divided the internet. I plan to do a more in depth post but over all I thought this was fun. Obviously, being a script rather than a full novel, it was a very different experience to the rest of the Harry Potter books. It did have a very ‘fan fiction’ feel to it, but over all I enjoyed it and I can’t wait to see it on stage (roll on September 2017!)

That was a long post… Thanks for reading!

2 comments

  1. Ooh yay you read Red Queen! I couldn’t agree more about Aveyard knowing how to end a story well; the ending for Glass Sword is also quite brilliant! However, I didn’t really like Glass Sword as much as Red Queen, and I’m looking forward to hearing what you think about it! xx

    Like

Leave a Reply

