Book Review: Rebel of the Sands

book-review

881375

Rebel of the Sands by Alwyn Hamilton (Rebel of the Sands #1)

★★★★☆

Published: 2016

Format: Paperback

Pages: 358

Genre: Fantasy, Young Adult

(Read for the Perustopia Book Club)

Rebel of the Sands follows Amani, a girl from a small dead end town in the desert nation of Miraji. She will do anything to escape her life, and mysterious stranger Jin gives her the opportunity she’s been waiting for.

I’ll start off by saying that I really enjoyed this book while reading it. The opening chapter based at a sharp shooting competition really grabbed my attention and I loved the desert setting. I actually enjoyed the story more before the major fantastical elements were brought in, but they were fun all the same.

The novel is not without its problems. If you don’t like your protagonists to be ‘special’ then I would give this one a miss.

Additionally, the main ‘fantasy’ elements in this are the Djinn. I was unaware of the background of the Djinn before reading this book (I recommend reading Fadwa’s review over at Word Wonders). In actual fact the Djinn come from Muslin culture and it seems they are not represented well in this novel at all.

Although I did very much enjoy the story while reading it, on reflection it did have many issues. I’ll stick with my 4 star rating, but don’t plan to continue on with the series.

3 comments

Leave a Reply

