June 2016: Wrap Up

wrap-up

Books Read: 8

Books Hauled: 5

June Reads

This month I finished a couple of audiobooks which I’ve been listening to for a long time, and I took part in my first proper readathon. There were some chunky books finished this month!

  • The Woman in White by Wilkie Collins (Audiobook) ★★★☆☆
    • I had heard this was super creepy, and I was completely let down by that. However, as a Victorian classic I did like it.
  • Dracula by Bram Stoker (Audiobook) ★★☆☆☆
    • This was a let down for me, I was hoping for great things from the most famous vampire novel. The first chapter (or maybe chapters) was amazing, fantastically creepy. Then everything calmed down and the rest of the novel was very slow.
  • The Shadow of the Wind by Carlos Ruiz Zafón (The Cemetery of Forgotten Books #1) ★★★☆☆
    • I read this for the Uncovered Book Club. This was another disappointment for me. I’ve heard a lot of brilliant things by was very average for me. Full review here
  • Oh, The Places You’ll Go by Dr. Seuss ★★★★☆
    • I picked copies of this up for my brother and sister who are graduating this year. This is perfect for graduates, or anybody going through a major change in their lives.
  • Rebel of the Sands by Alwyn Hamilton (Rebel of the Sands #1) ★★★★☆
    • I read this for the Perusetopia book club, and I enjoyed it. I was actually enjoying it the most before the really fantasy elements were brought in. I’ll talk about it in more detail in my upcoming review.
  • Venus and Adonis by William Shakespeare ★★☆☆☆
    • I have never read a long poem before (this is 64 pages long), so that was really interesting and I’d defintely like to try something similar. But the subject matter ruined this for me, it’s essentially about a Goddess trying to rape a human mane and being so upset about rejection she curses him.

Books Hauled

Basically I have no self control…

As always I was sucked in by some Kindle offers. I’ve heard mixed things about Delirium by Lauren Oliver, but I’m excited to try it for myself and final check out some of her work. I of course had to pick up Queen of Shadows by Sarah J Maas while it was 99p, and I’ve added to my Neil Gaiman collection with the very short collection of stories Neil Gaiman’s Likely Stories. I’ve also recently signed up to the Audible deals email, and couldn’t resist The Time Traveller’s Wife by Audrey Niffenegger. And finally, to help take my amazon order into free shipping I picked up my first children’s book by Neil Gaiman Coraline.

 

2 comments

Leave a Reply

