2016: Half Way Update

2016

I know it’s a cliche, but where has the time gone? It’s already June and we’re nearly half-way through the year. So it’s time to check in on how my reading is going, and how well I’ve been meeting my goals and resolutions.

1) Read 52 Books

I’m currently on 42! I have read a few short books and graphic novel this year, but even without that I seem to be spending more time on reading which I’m really enjoying. I may up my goal, possibly to 75. We’ll see when I reach 52!

2) Read more books than I buy

FAIL. Not helped by the bundle of 24 graphic novels/comics I bought through Humble Bundle. But, by the end of the year I hope to have read most, if not all, of them.

3) Continue/Finish some series

I’ve been doing well with this one!

Two of these I’ve actually decided I no longer want to read, sometimes we have to be realistic in the fact that we will never pick them up! Those series are A Song of Ice and Fire be George R. R. Martin (these books are hard work and while they were good, they didn’t blow me away) and The Inheritance Series by Christopher Paolini (it’s been way too long since I read Eragon).

I have now finished The Chaos Walking Trilogy by Patrick Ness and picked up book 2 of The Steampunk Chronicles by Kady Cross.

There’s two more series I want to continue/complete:
     – The Farseer Trilogy by Robin Hobb (Book 3: Assassin’s Quest)
     – The Throne of Glass series by Sarah J. Maas (Book 4: Queen of Shadows and the Novella Collection: The Assassin’s Blade)
4) Start some new series
I’ve not done so well with this, I’ve only finished one of my 5 books (Daughter of Smoke
& Bone by Laini Taylor
). I have also picked up The Colour of Magic by Terry Pratchett but I’ve really struggled to get into it so I have put it down for now.
5) Read 12 Classics
5 read so far so I’m pretty much on track:
– And Then There Were None by Agatha Christie
– Nineteen Eighty Four by George Orwell
– The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald
– The Woman in White by Wilkie Collins
– Dracula by Bram Stoker
I’m currently listening to Tess of the Durberville’s by Thomas Hardy and I still want to pick up some Austen and Shakespeare
Leave a Reply

