Book Review: A Thousand Splendid Suns

book-review

881375

A Thousand Splendid Suns by Khaled Hosseini

★★★★☆

Published: 2007

Format: Paperback

Pages: 419

Genre: General Fiction/Historical Fiction

Mariam grew up on the edge of a small town, an illegitimate daughter to a local business man. She is just 15 when she is sent to Kabul to marry Rasheed. She grows up lonely, but two decades later strikes up a friendship with local teenager Laila. Between them the face many threats from home and from war.

I’ll start off this review by saying this isn’t a book I would have picked up myself. But my mother-in-law lent it to me insisting I read it. And I’m so glad she did!

Afghanistan, and particularly the Taliban has been featured on the news all my life, but I didn’t really know anything about the country or it’s civilians. This is a fascinating look into the lives of two women growing up there.

It’s definitely an emotive book. The trials they both go through are heartbreaking, but equally the bravery seen is heartwarming.

This is a fantastically written book and has definitely inspired me to look out for more novels written about countries and cultures I’m not familiar with. I’ll definitely be checking out more of Khaled Hosseini’s work, particularly his most famous novel The Kite Runner.

One comment

Leave a Reply

