Book Review: Allegiant by Veronica Roth

book-review

28204534

Allegiant by Veronica Roth (Divergent #3)

★★★☆☆

Contains spoilers for Divergent and Insurgent

Published: 2013

Format: Paperback

Pages: 526

Genre: Young Adult, Dystopian

After growing up in an isolated faction based society, discovering the truth about her city has changed everything Tris Prior thought she knew.

I’ll start this review off by saying that I really enjoyed Divergent and Insurgent. I adored them when I first read them and they held up well to  reread last month. I know the series has it’s critics, but I’m not one of them!

Allegiant gets some serious hate, but honestly I kind of liked it. It does have a completely different tone as the story has evolved, but it suits the direction Veronica Roth has been taken. It’s hard to create a satisfactory ended, but I liked that Roth didn’t take a obvious route and she managed to create a genuinely shocking ended (or it would have been if I hadn’t been spoiled…). Overall I thought the story was good, but not amazing. It was an OK ending to a trilogy I love.

The one big thing that bugged me about this book though: the dual perspective. I rarely love multiple perspectives. But I found it really jarring in this case to go from Tris’ POV, to switching to Four’s. To be honest I didn’t really care about his chapters (So I definitely won’t be checking out Four).

What did you think about the books in this series?

3 comments

  1. I’m glad you enjoyed divergent and insurgent! I was obsessed with this series but the ending ruined it for me :(. I went to a Q&A for Veronica Roth which she explained her reasoning behind her decisions and I get it BUT STILL. Have you watched any of the movies?

    Like

    1. I feel like I was less disappointed with the ending because I already knew about it.

      I’ve seen Divergent (which I didn’t mind) and Insurgent. I thought I’d completely forgotten Insurgent until I re-read the book and realised they’d just completely changed the story…

      I may watch the other two when they’re all out on DVD sometime. How about you?

      Liked by 1 person

      1. haha you had time to prepare yourself for that ending. I’ve watched Divergent and it was good enough. Obviously you can’t fit all of the details of the book into a movie (as all book to movie adaptations are). I’m very hesitant to watch insurgent but maybe Allegiant will have a different ending? Then i’ll reconsider :p

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

