Tag: A to Z Bookish Survey

tag

I found this tag through BooksandLala (original: Perputual Page-Turner)

Enjoy!

Author you’ve read the most books from

This is a tie between two authors with 12 books each. Both are from long book series. Kathy Reichs, books 1 – 12 of the Temperance Brennan series. This is probably my favourite crime series, definitely reccommend checking this out aslong as you don’t mind a bit of gore. Charlaine Harris, books 1-10 plus a novella collection from The Southern Vampire Mysteries (a great vampire series, which the show True Blood is based on) as well as the graphic novel adaptation of Grave Sight (this was disappointing).

(If most of your reads are on GoodReads you can find this out easily by going on to ‘My Books’ and clicking ‘Most Read Authors’ on the left hand side)

Best Sequel Ever

For this I’m going to choose a sequel which I prefered to the previous book which is Scarlet by Marissa Meyer, book #2 of The Lunar Chronicles

Currently Reading

Outlander (Cross Stitch) by Diana Gabaldon (Outlander #1)

Drink of Choice While Reading

I pretty much always have some water near by.

E-reader or Physical Book?

I use, and love, both. My e-reader is so handy. It’s great for travel, and it’s what I use to read in my lunch break (easier to eat when reading on a Kindle). You can also get great deals on books, the vast majority of my e-books cost me 99p or less.  But I love the look of a physical book so I still buy them all the time!

Fictional Character You Probably Would Have Actually Dated In High School

Rory Williams from Doctor Who (yes, it’s a TV show, but he is also in the book series!). He’s such a good person, and adores his wife.

Glad You Gave This Book A Chance

The Fault in Our Stars by John Green. I don’t read much contemporary (apart from crime) and I tend to avoid ‘tear jerking’ novels. But I adored this, and fell in love with John Green’s writing.

Hidden Gem Book

The Book of Blood and Shadow by Robin Wasserman. I’ve not heard anything about this novel, it was a total cover buy for me. But now it’s one of my favourites!

Important Moment in your Reading Life

I’m going to steal the answer from the original and say discovering GoodReads. I’ve always been a big reader and I love organising and keeping track of things. GoodReads appeals to both of these loves.

Just Finished

Allegiant by Veronica Roth (Divergent #3). I’ll be posting my thoughts soon!

Kinds of Books You Won’t Read

I generally avoid Autobiographies/Biographies. They just don’t capture my attention particularly. I don’t tend to pick up Romance books either, or anything which really focuses on the romance in the synopsis. Never say never though, if I hear enough great things about something I will pick it up (such as Me Before You by Jojo Moyes which I really want to try).

Longest Book You’ve Read

A Clash of Kings by George R. R. Martin (A Song of Ice and Fire #2) – 911 pages


Major book hangover because of:

I don’t think I’ve ever really had a book hang over. At least that I can remember.

Number of Bookcases You Own

Most of my books are currently under the spare bed in my parents house as I don’t have space for them in my flat.

I have two small bookshelves with books on them, although they also have other things on them.

One Book You Have Read Multiple Times

The one I’ve read the most is Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone by J.K. Rowling (Harry Potter #1)

Preferred Place To Read

I do most of my reading in bed.

Quote that inspires you/gives you all the feels from a book

“You’re a wizard, Harry.” from Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone. It was the start of the best adventure.

Reading Regret

Reading the whole of The Historian by Elizabeth Kostova. I really didn’t like it but I was convinced it must get better. It didn’t, and it’s a really long book. I should have DNF’d.

Series You Started And Need To Finish(all books are out in series)

The Chaos Walking trilogy by Patrick Ness. I just have Monsters of Men left!


Three of your All-Time Favorite Books

Some that I haven’t already mentioned: The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins, Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas and Ashes by Ilsa J. Bick


Unapologetic Fangirl For

Doctor Who. I know this isn’t a book fandom, but I do own a huge amount of compainion books and novels. This is my main fandom.

Very Excited For This Release More Than All The Others

I don’t particularly keep a close eye on book releases, although I hear about them through book blogs and book tube. And with so many book I have to read I don’t focus on ones which aren’t yet out. The exception to this: the Harry Potter series. And I’m incredible excited for Harry’s story to continue this year! Although I won’t be going to see the show, I have a copy of the script through Harry Potter and the Cursed Child by J.K. Rowling, Jack Thorne and John Tiffany.

Worst Bookish Habit

I should DNF books when I don’t enjoy them. Some may say it’s good to give a book a chance, but I have so many things I want to read why waste my time when I’m not enjoying something?

I have definitely improved on this this year.

X Marks The Spot: Start at the top left of your shelf and pick the 27th book

The one next to me right now is my unread shelf, book 27 is The Clocks by Agatha Christie (Hercule Poirot #34)

Your latest book purchase

I picked up The Shadow of the Wind by Carlos Ruiz Zafon and Seventh Son by Orson Scott Card from a 2nd hand book sale last month
ZZZ-snatcher book (last book that kept you up WAY late):

A Thousand Pieces of You by Claudia Gray. I have a review of this coming soon, but basically I really enjoyed it!

This is quite a long tag so I won’t tag anybody specifically. But if you want to do it, I tag you!

Let me know if you do this tag, I’d love to see your answers

 

Leave a Reply

