March 2016: Wrap Up & Book Haul

wrap-up

Books Read: 14

Books Hauled: 7

March Reads

I read a lot this month as I read a lot of ‘quick’ reads including some fairy tales, a graphic novel and a novella

Novels, Graphic Novel and Novella

Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor ★★★★☆ (Review)

The Heart Goes Last by Margaret Atwood ★★☆☆☆ (Review)

The Reptile Room by Lemony Snitcket ★★★★☆ (A Series of Unfortunate Events #2)

The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald ★★★☆☆ (Review)

Fear Nothing: Volume 1 by Dean Koontz, Bob Gill, Grant Alter and Derek Ruiz ★★★★☆

American Gods by Neil Gaiman (American Gods #1) ★★★★☆ (Review Coming Soon)

The Monarch of the Glen by Neil Gaiman (American Gods #1.5) ★★★☆☆

Fairy Tales/Folk Tales

I’ve been doing an online course on Hans Christian Anderson and his work, so I’ve been reading some of his stories as well as a folk tale he was inspired by.

The Riddle as told by Poul Revskov to Evald Tang Kristensen ★★☆☆☆

The Travelling Companion by Hans Christian Andersen ★★★☆☆

The Spectre by Hans Christian Andersen ★★☆☆☆

The Little Mermaid by Hans Christian Andersen ★★★★☆

The Story of a Mother by Hans Christian Andersen ★★★★☆

The Snow Queen by Hans Christian Andersen ★★★☆☆

The Red Shoes by Hans Christian Andersen ★★☆☆☆

 

Book Haul

It’s been a month of bargain hunting!

I picked up The Light of the Fireflies by Paul Pen through March’s Amazon Kindle First offer, which gives you a chance to pick one book for 99p from a selection being published the following month. The blurb really intrigued be on this and the reviews it’s had so far have been brilliant (this was originally published in 2013, but has now been translated into English).

I spotted Room by Emma Donoghue in The Works (my favourite bookshop). I really want to see the film, so obviously I want to read the book first. The BBC online store had a closing down sale, and I had to use it as a chance to fill in some of the gaps in my Doctor Who: New Series Adventures, so I picked up Forever Autumn by Mark Morris (#16) and The Taking of Chelsea 426 by David Llewellyn (#34).

I’ve had Sacrifice by Gwendolyn Beynon on my wish list for a while (it’s set in Wales and has Dragons, how could I not read it!?), and when I spotted it available for free on Kindle I had to pick it up.

And finally, I spent my Easter weekend in a small village in Camarthenshire where I found an amazing second hand book sale. There I picked up The Shadow of the Wind by Carlos Ruiz Zafón (I’ve seen amazing reviews of this one) and Seventh Son by Orson Scott Card which m cousin highly recommended.

Leave a Reply

