Revisiting My Five Star Reads: Part 2

My Five Star Books 2

I’ve started this series to look back over the books I’ve rated 5 stars in the past. Some of which are some favourites, and some I doubt I’d enjoy now.

Part 1

Divine by Mistake by P.C. Cast

2e86rcn

Divine by Mistake by P.C. Cast

Book 1 of the Goddess of Partholon series

When I First Read It: Pre-2011

Published: 2001

Genre: Fantasy

Brief Summary: This book follows Shannon Parker, a teacher who gets transported to the world of Partholon. She has taken the place of the Goddess Incarnate of the Celtic Goddess Epona. She is thrust into a world of magic and war, and a ritual marriage to a centaur.

My Initial Thoughts: I’d never heard of this series, and picked it up on a whim. And I ended up completely loving it. I loved the world of Partholon, and it was nice to read a fantasy series which, while showing similarities to YA fantasy, has an older lead character. I rated the other 4 books in the series as 4 stars. This is a great gateway series if you read a lot of YA fantasy, but want to try some adult fiction.

Would I Still Read/Enjoy? I think I would, and I definitely want to read this series again. It’s near to the top of my re-read list! It would be interesting to try again now that I’ve read more adult fantasy novels.

 

The Hunger Games & Catching Fire by Suzanne Collins

Books 1 & 2 of the Hunger Games series

When I First Read Them: 2011

Published: 2008 & 2009

Genre: Dystopian, YA

Brief Summary: This series is set in a dystopian society, with 12 districts governed by the Capitol. 74 years ago the districts rebelled against the Capitol but were defeated. As punishment the Capitol destroyed the 13th district. Now to remind them of their power, each year every district must send one boy and one girl to The Hunger Games, where only one will survive.

My Initial Thoughts: This  I was my first foray into the dystopian genre, and remains my favourite. I enjoyed the entire trilogy, although I rated the third Mockingjay 4/5. The films are also among my favourites and are great adaptations of the series.

Would I Still Read/Enjoy? I re-read the series last year before the final film was release and I loved them just as much!

 

The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo & The Girl Who Played with Fire by Stieg Larsson

Books 1 and 2 of the Millennium Trilogy

When I First Read Them: 2013

Published: 2005 & 2006

Genre: Thriller/Mystery

Brief Summary: Forty years ago, Harriet Vanger disappeared. All these years later, her Uncle is still determined to find out what happened to her. He hires journalist Mikael Blomkvist to help uncover the truth.

My Initial Thoughts: This is a big book that really intimidated me before I read it. But there was a lot of hype, and after my dad read and loved it I finally gave it a go and I’m so glad I did. It’s a fantastic, but hard hitting series. I highly recommend giving it a try, although do be warned it does contain a lot of violence and sexual abuse.

Would I Still Read/Enjoy? I’m certain I would.

 

Divergent & Insurgent by Veronica Roth

Books 1 and 2 of the Divergent series

When I First Read Them: 2013 & 2014

Published: 2011 & 2012

Genre: Dystopian, YA

Brief Summary: The Divergent trilogy is set in a dystopian world where everybody is split into five factions based on the virtue they value the most. At the age of 16 each person can choose if they wish to stay where they were brought up or switch to another. Beatrice Prior has made her decision, and now she must compete in a in the highly competitive initiation or risk becoming factionless.

My Initial Thoughts: I really loved these books! It’s a cliche to compare to other series, but this really is great for fans of The Hunger Games. It often gets compared negatively, but I really enjoyed both.

Would I Still Read/Enjoy? I think I will. I have heard a lot of negative reviews about these, but I loved them so much the first time I’m sure I’ll enjoy them again. I plan to re-read them soon before reading Allegiant for the first time.

 

The Book of Blood and Shadow by Robin Wasserman

2e86rcn

The Book of Blood & Shadow by Robin Wasserman

When I First Read It: 2013

Published: 2012

Genre: Mystery, YA

Brief Summary: When Nora finds one of her best friends dead and her boyfriend, Chris, missing, Chris is accused of murder. Nora is determined to prove his innocence but she comes across a mystery spanning both continents and centuries. She must solve is in order to survive.

My Initial Thoughts: Admittedly this was a total cover buy, but it definitely paid off. I’ve not read very many YA mysteries, but adored this one. I loved the twists and turns and couldn’t wait to get to the end to find out all the answers.

Would I Still Read/Enjoy? I’m sure I would!

 

I hope you enjoyed this post. Are the any past favourites you think you’d feel differently about if you read them today?

Leave a Reply

