February 2016 Wrap Up & Haul

wrap-up

Books Read: 4

Books Hauled: 6 + 1 Humble Bundle

February Reads

The Queen’s Promise by Lyn Andrews ★★★☆☆ (Review)

The Bad Beginning by Lemony Snicket (A Series of Unfortunate Events #1) ★★★★☆ (Review)

Grave Sight: Part 1 by Charlaine Harris, Denis Medri and William Harms (Grave Sight Graphic Novel #1) ★★☆☆☆

Nineteen Eighty-Four by George Orwell ★★★☆☆ (Review Coming Soon)

The Girl with the Clockwork Collar by Kady Cross (Steampunk Chronicles #2) ★★★★☆  (Review Coming Soon)

Book Haul:

It was my birthday the end of January and had some great books! First up is the Waterstones/Penguin edition of The Greatest Cases of Sherlock Holmes by Arther Conan Doyle from my boyfriend. I love these editions (I already have The Brother’s Grimm). This contains the 12 stories which Conan Doyle himself considered his best.

My brother got my Fantastic Beasts & Where to Find Them and Quidditch Through the Ages both companions to the Harry Potter series. I read these when they first came out, and I’m glad to now own copies of them!

I also had another gift card this month and spent part of it on American Gods by Neil Gaiman. I love all the Gaiman novels I’ve read so far, and this seems to be his most popular. With the TV adaptation coming soon it’s definitely time for me to pick this one up.

A spur of the moment buy, with the Kindle Daily Deal, was The Heart Goes Last by Margaret Atwood. The premise of this really intrigued me and I couldn’t resist.

I picked up a copy of The Revenant by Michael Punke for my Dad’s birthday. It unfortunately arrived damaged, but Amazon’s customer support was brilliant and they sent a replacement which arrived the next day. They also said I could keep or dispose of the damaged copy. It’s still perfectly readable so I’ll keep it on my shelf for now and may give it a go.

Finally, I picked up the The Humble Comics Bundle: Best-Selling Authors presented by Dynamite. I couldn’t resit this as a chance to try a variety of graphic novels (from some fantastic authors).

Leave a Reply

