December 2015 Wrap Up: Haul and Mini-Reviews

wrap-up
It was a big month for new books, and although I didn’t read much in December I really enjoyed what I did finish.
Book Haul

Staring off with my Kindle books, I received a Net Galley review copy this month in the form of Pretty Is by Maggie Mitchell, followed by The Photographer’s Wife by Nick Alexander for free through an EE promotion. To help get myself into the Christmas spirit I decided to try out A Christmas Carol by Charles Dickens (see mini-review below) and finally I could resist the Amazon Kindle sale and downloaded Station Eleven by St. John Mandel.
On to my new physical books, I had some really great ones for Christmas! The beautiful Selected Tales by The Brothers Grimm, Nineteen Eighty Four by George Orwell and the illustrated edition of Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone by J.K. Rowling. And of course the post-Christmas sales sucked me in and I picked up a copy of Outlander by Diana Gabaldon.
Mini-Reviews

Heir of Fire by Sarah J. Maas (Throne of Glass, Book 3) ★★★★☆

 

2e86rcn

Heir of Fire by Sarah J. Maas

 

I won’t talk too much about the plot of this specific book as it’s the 3rd in the series, but instead explain book 1. Throne of Glass follows Celaena Sardothien, an 18 year old assassin who has been labouring in the salt mines of Endovier as punishment for her crimes. At the beginning of the novel she is offered a chance at freedom by Prince Dorian. Celaena must compete in a competition to become the King’s champion.
This story has evolved significantly since book 1. I really love the characters, particularly Celaena, and it’s great to see more and more of the world she lives in as the books go on. One thing that did knock a star off for book 3 were the chapter which focused on a new character who is a witch. I kept wanting to get back to the characters I already know, although I did warm to her a bit more as the story continued.
I think I’ll read the collection of short prequels (The Assassin’s Blade), before continuing this Celaena’s story with Queen of Shadows.

A Christmas Carol by Charles Dickens ★★★☆☆

2e86rcn

A Christmas Carol by Charles Dickens

This is one of those stories that everyone knows, even if they’ve never actually read it. So I thought it was about time I read the original!
A Christmas Carol follows Ebenezer Scrooge, a grumpy old man who hates Christmas and particularly all the festivities surrounding it (he is literally a Scrooge). On Christmas Eve he is visited by several ghosts to help him see the error of his ways.
I really enjoyed reading the original story. It’s a quick read and helped get me into the festive spirit. I actually followed up reading this with two film adaptations with Disney’s A Christmas Carol and of course The Muppet Christmas Carol. Both are actually surprisingly faithful, with the exception of a brief love interest.
Leave a Reply

