2016 Bookish Goals and Resolutions

Here are a few bookish resolutions and goals I have for the year ahead:

1) Read 52 books

I had this target last year, and actually ended up reading 60 books. But I want to leave time for long books so that I don’t keep putting them off. 1 a week is a good goal for me.

2)  Read more books than I buy

I have way to many unread books, so I need to stop buying more! I have got a gift voucher that needs using and my birthday is coming up, but after then I’m going to really try not to buy any more for a while.

3) Continue/Finish some book series

I have a few series I’d really like to continue with:
     – A Song of Ice and Fire by George R. R. Martin (Book 3: A Storm of Swords Part 1 and Part 2)
     – The Chaos Walking Trilogy by Patrick Ness (Book 3: Monsters of Men)
     – The Steampunk Chronicles by Kady Cross (Book 2: The Girl in the Clockwork Collar)
     – The Farseer Trilogy by Robin Hobb (Book 3: Assassin’s Quest)
     – The Throne of Glass series by Sarah J. Maas (Book 4: Queen of Shadows and the Novella Collection: The Assassin’s Blade)
     – The Inheritance Series by Christopher Paolini (Book 2: Eldest)

4) Start some new series

Discussed in a Top 5 Wednesday post

5) Read 12 Classics

I managed 12 this year (plus a couple of short stories) and I’d like to try and repeat that this year. A few I definitely want to try and get to:
     – The Memoirs of Sherlock Holmes by Arthur Conan Doyle
     – Wuthering Heights by Emily Bronte
     – Nineteen Eight-Four by George Orwell
     – Another Jane Austen novel, I’m thinking maybe Emma
     – A few more Agatha Christie novels
     – I’d also like to try a Shakespeare play
Leave a Reply

